change is a slow and (often) lonely process and requires letting go of control, most of the time.

img_7034-2

(Timberman Trail, Mount Work; Photo by Jillian Goddard)

For a moment I wondered if the water would solidify if I fell. Rather, become a gel that absorbs the shock of my fall; it lifts me up and brings me to my full upright (and woke)(and grateful)(and livin’ fierce) position.

But we all know that I wouldn’t even make it to the water; and anyway, matter (including the matter in solutions like sea water) does not make compromises. I am not force enough to alter the compounds of the ocean. I wouldn’t want to be — what a terrible burden that would place on me.

Leave a Reply

